My Cairn.

I built this Cairn on what was called saddle back Cay but now known as Little Normans Cay.  

I worked on a boat as first mate then Captain that went to this island everyday ,every day i would put a new rock on the cairn and also told the tourists that we brought to the Cay that it was good luck to put a rock on it and to make a wish,the last time i saw it , it was about 12 to 15 feet high.

Everyday I would find a shell and bring it home to my then wife Gillian and tell her it was a present from the deep .

I told my kids that if anything happened to me to put my ashes on this Cairn and also cement wine bottles into it so when the wind picked up it whistled signaling the entrance into a safe harbor , i never got sick of this veiw , Water as clear as gin and a gentle sea breeze.

So if you go to the Bahamas and you get a chance , please put a rock on my Cairn.

Published by Arjuna Watson

urban realist ,modernist ,sometime painter ,maker of objects some of them finer than others.

Leave a comment